A Yoga Home…

IMG_0479Ive got the feeva people! My fire is currently hot and will hopefully keep kicking my butt out the door to yoga classes. (rather than having my practice at home in dog hair and O drool.. 😉

Tonight was my second class at this local studio near my new-ish house. Its harder to get to a class when you are post baby, new community, and…broke. With the help of my friend who I met through yoga teacher training years ago, I made it to her class and sweet talked my way into 7 free days!

I initially walked into this studio to tell them I was interested in subbing (I was secretly talking a big game and shaking in my boots about it). I did my teacher training a few years back, my 200 hour, and I got pregnant half way through. I honestly went from being an ambitious yogini ready to take on the next chapter in my practice to a smug & selfish pregger lady who was all wrapped up in the ‘WOW” factor that I was pregnant. So, although I passed my exam well and remember a lot, I still feel like such an amateur.

The teacher I had tonight was a gem, though. A very vigorous class that I surprisingly kept up with, I loved her and every minute of it. She was funny enough to introduce herself to me across the room while we were both in “birds of paradise,” it was awk and funny. Anywho, after class we talked and she was so genuine in knowing about me. I told her about my dance background and blah blah (most yoga teachers are not excited about dancers…thats I the drift Ive gotten, anyway), and as she asked me who I studied with in CA, I realized that I don’t really have anyone that Ive followed as my “teacher,” but I think Ive wanted someone really bad.

Teacher training at the studio in Seattle was great and I tried to piggy back on a few teachers there.. There was one who I thoroughly enjoy with a strong anatomy foundation in her teaching, which I LOVE; however, I never felt the enthusiasm from a teacher to continue to have me…?;( I think i am taking it all very personally as I sit here and write this, but its true! This teacher today seemed so very interested in seeing me again and learning about me and my dance background that I got all jazzed and hugged her and am dying to go back!

Feeling wanted or interest from someone to want you to grow and develop your practice feels great in whatever you do: work, school, hobbies.. I definitely hope that I do find this studio as my home, and this teacher as my friend and leader as my practice ascends. Ultimately, I know that yoga will carry me as an old person while dance might be a little rough on the bod as I get older. I intend to teach dance as long as I have a following–simply because I love it with every grain of my being (and I LOVE teaching kids), but my own physical practice will end up on my sticky mat, I just know it.
IMG_0331 IMG_0343 IMG_0349 IMG_0382

 

Leave a comment